Adrian red card: Irons may appeal

AdrianWest Ham are waiting on referee Anthony Taylor’s report before making a decision on whether to appeal Adrian’s red card during yesterday’s game against Leicester City.

The Spaniard was adjudged to have been guilty of dangerous play when he went in with a high boot after joining the attack as the Hammers sought an equaliser at the end.

It looked very harsh as there appeared no intention to injure anybody as he backtracked towards his own goal. However manager Slaven Bilic – whilst accepting that – appeared to accept the referee’s decision.

However, ClaretandHugh was told a few minutes ago that no decision has yet been made on what line the club will take.

A source told us exclusively: “We might appeal. We will take a look at the referee’s report and look at the incident from all available angles before we make that decision.”

Adrian tweeted last night that he had never in his career deliberately attempted to hurt anyone and the TV evidence suggested that he was unaware of any player in the vicinity as he attempted to clear the ball.


About Hugh5outhon1895

Hugh Southon is a lifelong Iron and the founding editor of ClaretandHugh. He is a national newspaper journalist of many years experience and was Bobby Moore's 'ghost' writer during the great man's lifetime. He describes ClaretandHugh as "the Hammers daily newspaper!" Follow on Twitter @hughsouthon

5 comments on “Adrian red card: Irons may appeal

  1. Just doing his job and unintentionally went in with his boot high ..
    Ok , it was unintentional , but His Boot , Was High . Red card all day long . If it was the other way around we would have been screaming for a red card .
    Anyway , I hope Bilic gets his team selection right for next week .

  2. Randolph is nowhere near being a Premiership keeper and you’d think there’s very little chance of getting Adrian’s Red Card overturned – emergency call out to Rob Green?

  3. Striker or Keeper ? , seems a bit of a dilemma . Green is a very good keeper and most fans would welcome him back , but , it has to be Striker .

  4. It’s a red card but a red card for a reckless challenge as opposed to a dangerous one would mean a lesser ban

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *