Bowen wins Hammer of the Year award

Image for Bowen wins Hammer of the Year award

Jarrod Bowen has been named West Ham United’s Hammer of the Year for 2023/24, following a stellar season where fans overwhelmingly voted him as their player of the season. The England forward has cemented his place in the club’s history by breaking personal and club records.

Late last month, Bowen’s precise header against Liverpool made him the first Irons player to score over 20 goals in a season since Marlon Harewood, 19 years ago. He also matched Paolo Di Canio’s record of 16 goals in a single Premier League season. In February, he scored a career-first hat-trick against Brentford, netted in the 5-0 victory over SC Freiburg in March, and added a crucial goal to the 2-1 win over Tottenham in December. His consistent performances earned him a spot alongside past winners like Bobby Moore, Sir Geoff Hurst, and Mark Noble.

Bowen secured the top spot ahead of Mohammed Kudus in second place and Edson Álvarez in third, both of whom have impressed in their debut seasons in East London.

Speaking at the game against Luton, where he received the award, Bowen said, “I’m incredibly proud to win the Hammer of the Year award. The list of past winners shows how special it is. I’m grateful to the fans who have cheered us on in every game. Their support over my four-and-a-half years here has helped me reach where I am today.”

He added, “I’ve had a strong year, showing my effectiveness in various positions up front. Though I’ve missed games due to injury, there have been many memorable moments, and I never tire of scoring goals! My time at West Ham has been wonderful, and I’m eager to achieve more in the future. Let’s finish this season on a high note and build momentum for next year.”

Share this article

Hammers Chat video blogger @Gonzobignose

West Ham News


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *