web analytics

Cricket IPL Betting India

The major sports betting sites, such as 10CRIC, will soon have betting markets available with competitive odds for the upcoming 2023 IPL (Indian Premier League) season – the world’s most popular cricket league.

It’s set to get underway on March 25th, so if you’re looking for some useful info about IPL betting, then you’ve come to the right place.

What is the IPL?

The Indian Premier League (officially known this year as the TATA IPL due to the current sponsor) is the top tier of men’s professional cricket in India, which now features a total of ten teams. The league is controlled by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (or BCCI for short), and the very first season was in 2008.

The tournament format is a T20 franchise round robin group system with playoffs, and the upcoming 2023 IPL season is scheduled to commence on March 25th. The current reigning champions are the Gujarat Titans (or GT for short, who won their first ever title at the end of the 2022 season), and the team that has won the most IPL seasons is the Mumbai Indians (MI). They have won the title on five separate occasions.

What teams are in the 2023 IPL?

The ten teams that will be competing against each other this year are the following:

  • Sunrise Hyderabad (SRH)
  • Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)
  • Rajasthan Royals (RR)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
  • Delhi Capitals (DC)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  • Punjab Kings (PBSK)
  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  • Mumbai Indians (MI)
  • Gujarat Titans (GT)

The first game of the season is on March 25th between the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Chennai Super Kings. On March 26th, the Mumbai Indians play the Delhi Capitals, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore face the Punjab Kings at home. You also then have the Lucknow Super Giants playing the Gujarat Titans on the 27th.

The following day, the Rajasthan Royals play Sunrise Hyderabad. The Kolkata Knight Riders face the Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 29th. The Chennai Super Kings are at home to Lucknow Super Giants on March 30th, and then on March 31st, the Punjab Kings play the Kolkata Knight Riders, to name just a few opening fixtures.

Where can I place a real money wager on the upcoming IPL matches?

If you’re looking for a trustworthy Cricket IPL betting India website, the good news is that there are now several to choose from. If you live in India and fancy placing a real money wager on any upcoming 2023 IPL matches, one of the safest and most user-friendly online sports betting sites you can turn to is called 10CRIC Sports (10cric10.com).

This trusted site also has Live Betting (aka in-play betting) regular online casino games, and state-of-the-art live dealer games.

It’s free to sign up to and is currently offering all new players from India a guaranteed ₹1 Lakh (₹1000,000) welcome bonus with ONLY a 7X WAGERING REQUIREMENT. The initial sign-up bonus is spread over your first three deposits, and the minimum deposit required to ensure you don’t miss out on the 10CRIC Sports welcome offer is just ₹1,000.

When entering the unique bonus code ‘WELCOME’ into the required field when depositing, you can instantly unlock a 100% matching deposit bonus worth up to ₹30,000 on your first two deposits and a further 50% match bonus worth up to ₹40,000 on your third deposit. Your new 10CRIC account will also receive 10 Free Spins, which you can use on the popular Idol of Fortune online slot from Play’n GO.

What kind of IPL cricket betting markets are there?

Just before the season gets underway, there will be plenty of different IPL betting markets with competitive odds to choose from. If you want to place a bet as the action unfolds, then you may be interested in Live Betting markets that will become available as soon as the matches get underway.

The most common betting markets that you can generally place a wager on include the following:

  • Outright match winner
  • Over/under runs
  • Dismissal method
  • First to score 50, or first to score 100 runs
  • First half-century
  • First century
  • Future betting
  • Pre-match betting
  • Odd/even runs
  • Series winner
  • Toss winner
  • Total runs
  • Player of the match
  • Top batsmen

When you place a bet, don’t forget that you can display the odds in one of three different formats. These options include UK fractional, American/Moneyline, and European decimal odds. Remember to choose the odds format that you are most comfortable with.

Which team is most likely to win the 2022 IPL?

Let’s take a quick look at an example of how the different odds formats work. At the time of writing, you will find that many of today’s most trusted online sports betting websites currently have MI (the Mumbai Indians) and DC (the Delhi Capitals) as the joint odds-on favourite team to win the 2023 IPL. Both teams are priced at around 7.00 in European decimal odds to win the league outright.

When you convert 6/1 odds into American/Moneyline odds, it equates to 600, and when converted into European decimal odds, it equates to 7.00. It also means that these two teams (the Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Capitals) both currently have a 14.30% implied probability rate of winning the 2023 IPL outright.

The second joint-odds-on favourite teams to win the 2023 IPL behind MI and DC are the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and the Rajasthan Royals (RR). These two teams are both currently priced at around 7/1 in UK fractional odds, which is 700 in American/Moneyline odds and 8.00 in European decimal odds (with a 12.5% implied probability rate of winning the league).

Tips for cricket IPL betting in India

If you’re new to betting, try and remember some of the following important things before placing a wager on any upcoming 2023 IPL matches. Take a few minutes to learn the different bet types and the different odds formats because understanding the odds can help you place more strategic bets that are more likely to return you a small profit.

Never gamble more than you can afford. Never chase your losses, and always try to gamble responsibly. Don’t forget that you must be at least 18 to gamble at a fully licensed sports betting site in India.