web analytics

Hammer of the year revealed

The results from the Claret and Hugh’s poll for Hammer of the year are in and it will come as no surprise that Marko Arnautovic is the red-hot odds-on favourite to pick up the award which is voted for by West Ham supporters towards the end of each season.

The poll which attracted 1,338 participants showed Marko taking over 58% of the vote with 784 supporters voting him to be their 2017/2018 Hammer of the year.

Runner-up for Hammer of the year looks likely to be Pablo Zabaleta who pulled in 10% of the vote with 139. Honourable mentions go to Mark Noble with 7%  (96) Angelo Ogbonna 5% (68)  plus James Collins and Declan Rice both on 4% (62)

Last year’s Hammer of the year Michail Antonio could only pull in one single vote this season while the 2017/2018 Hammer of year runner-up Manuel Lanzini managed just 10 votes hardly registering in the poll.

The Hammer of the year award has been run since 1958 when the Stratford Express picked the first winner, since 1959 it has been chosen by West Ham fans.

Click Here for Comments >

About Sean Whetstone

I am Season Ticket Holder in West stand lower at the London Stadium and before that, I used to stand in the Sir Trevor Brooking Lower Row R seat 159 in the Boleyn Ground and in the Eighties I stood on the terraces of the old South Bank. I am a presenter on the West Ham Podcast called MooreThanJustaPodcast.co.uk. A Blogger on WestHamTillIdie.com a member of the West Ham Supporters Advisory Board (SAB), Founder of a Youtube channel called Mr West Ham Football at http://www.youtube.com/MrWestHamFootball, I am also the associate editor here at Claret and Hugh. Life Long singer of bubbles! Come on you Irons! Follow me at @Westhamfootball on twitter