Leave a comment

Hammers name Europa League knockout squad


West Ham United have submitted their squad for the 2023/24 UEFA Europa League knockout stages.

The Irons are through directly to the round of 16 and will face the first two legs  of a yet to be named opponent s in March.

Hammers name Europa League knockout squad

UEFA Europa League regulations required competing clubs to submit their ‘List A’ of senior players by 11pm on Friday 2 February 2024.

List A is comprised of no more than 25 players, including a minimum of eight ‘locally-trained players’ who have spent a minimum of 36 months between the ages of 15-21 registered with a club affiliated with The Football Association.

Four of those eight must be ‘club-trained’, meaning they have been registered with West Ham United for a minimum of 36 months between the ages of 15-21. The other four are ‘association-trained’, which means they have registered with any other clubs affiliated with The FA.

West Ham have named two club-trained players – goalkeeper Joseph Anang and defender Ben Johnson – and four locally-trained players – Michail Antonio, Jarrod Bowen, Aaron Cresswell and Danny Ings – in the squad.

James Ward-Prowse and Kalvin Phillips, who also locally-trained, are also registered, meaning West Ham have named a total of 21 players on List A.

Phillips is added to List A following his arrival on loan from Manchester City.

No further players can be added to List A for the knockout stages.

Additionally, the Club has submitted List B, which is comprised of players born on or after 1 January 2002 and since their 15th birthday have been registered with West Ham for at least 24 months.

Among those on List B is Divin Mubama, who was part of the Irons’ UEFA Europa Conference League-winning squad. List B can be updated ahead of the round of 16.


List A

Nayef Aguerd
Edson Álvarez
Joseph Anang (club-trained player)
Michail Antonio (locally-trained player)
Alphonse Areola
Jarrod Bowen (locally-trained player)
Maxwel Cornet
Vladimír Coufal
Aaron Cresswell (locally-trained player)
Łukasz Fabiański
Danny Ings (locally-trained player)
Ben Johnson (club-trained player)
Mohammed Kudus
Konstantinos Mavropanos
Angelo Ogbonna
Emerson Palmieri
Lucas Paquetá
Kalvin Phillips
Tomáš Souček
James Ward-Prowse (locally-trained player)
Kurt Zouma

(3) CLARETANDHUGH | Facebook



About Hugh5outhon1895

Hugh Southon is a lifelong Iron and the founding editor of ClaretandHugh. He is a national newspaper journalist of many years experience and was Bobby Moore's 'ghost' writer during the great man's lifetime. He describes ClaretandHugh as "the Hammers daily newspaper!" Follow on Twitter @hughsouthon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *