Sam: Johnson forced ref Dowd’s hand


New allardyceWest Ham boss Sam Allardyce unsurprisingly accused midfielder Adam Johnson of diving for the penalty that gave Sunderland a lead against us this afternoon.

Johnson toppled under the challenge of James Tomkins in the 22nd minute and – despite minimal contact – referee Phil Dowd had no hesitation in awarding a spot-kick.

And Allardyce said: “It’s a dive. I have to say, Johnno knew he was going nowhere – he knew it was going out of play – so (he thought) I’ll have a little fall down and make the referee make a decision, and it went in his favour.

“I’ve seen it from four angles on the laptop and the assistant referee has made the wrong decision in my opinion. It wasn’t the referee’s decision because he couldn’t see from where he was because (his view) was obscured by three players.”

The manager – again unsurprisingly claimed Dowd got it right when he waved away a strong spot-kick appeal in the second half after Hammers defender Winston Reid plainly handled a Santiago Vergini cross in the box.

Allardyce added: “Handball has to be intentional and I don’t think it was intentional at all. Everybody thinks that when it hits somebody’s hand today it has to be a penalty, but it doesn’t.”

Share this article

Hugh Southon is a lifelong Iron and the founding editor of ClaretandHugh. He is a national newspaper journalist of many years experience and was Bobby Moore's 'ghost' writer during the great man's lifetime. He describes ClaretandHugh as "the Hammers daily newspaper!"

Follow on Twitter @hughsouthon