The best No 10 in Hammers history


The Hammers Numbers countdown continues to the coveted number 10 . But who owned number 19?

Now worn by Edson Alvarez, Ian Pearce wore it , but the best number 19 in Hammers history has to be the Ginger Pele aka James Collins. Number 18 is packed with current attacking midfielders but from 1997 until 2001, Frank Lampard stole the show and wins .

The 17 kit has been worn by Chicharito, Jarrod Bowen, Joey O’Brien and Maxwel Cornet but the winner for the number 17 is Hayden Mullins. Number 16 hasn’t seen too many famous players besides John Moncur and Mr. West Ham, so it is obviously Mark Noble.

15 came down to Diafra Sakho, Rio Ferdinand, and Kenny Brown but even though sulky Sakho scored when he wanted to, Rio takes the kit at 15.

Bish, Morley, and Stewart all wore 14 for a year , and I think it has to go the stylish Ian Bishop. At superstitious 13, not many to chose from but I think Adrian gets the nod

Almost every West Ham legend wore the number 12 at some point in time but with the longest hold on the number and with the most crowd love it has to go to Carlton Cole.

Number 11 much like 12 has been worn a lot and perhaps Matthew Etherington deserves to take home the kit

Now on to the coveted number 10. Clearly this was a tough choice with the like of Lanzini, Collison, Harewood, Paolo Di Canio, Tony Cottee, Sir Geoff Hurst, and Martin Peters but it had to be Sir Trevor Brooking (sorry Paolo).

This is a position where you want to pick more than one and if you could, you might pick at least 4 others, but it Sir Trevor who takes the shirt home.

The final part of our Numbers game is tomorrow

Share this article

Hugh Southon is a lifelong Iron and the founding editor of ClaretandHugh. He is a national newspaper journalist of many years experience and was Bobby Moore's 'ghost' writer during the great man's lifetime. He describes ClaretandHugh as "the Hammers daily newspaper!"

Follow on Twitter @hughsouthon


Comments are closed.