1 Comment

Boleyn Farewell: Very rare Boleyn image

Boleyn 1905 (1)Today – as we continue our Forever Boleyn series – we publish one of the first ever pictures of the Boleyn ground from 1905.

The ground had been home to a team known as Boleyn Castle FC who played in the South Essex League and they were amalgamated into the club with their players joining West Ham. Not one of them, however, made it into the first team.

The view is from the North Bank looking down towards the South west corner of the ground with a Church Hall building seen just behind the west enclosure.

The first game played on the ground was a trial match played on the 22/8/1904 between two teams, Red and  Blue. It was played for the Benefit of St Edwards school with an attendance of 2,000 fans said to be in the ground.

Words and pictures from lifelong supporter Nigel Kahn with grateful thanks

Follow on Twitter @mywhufc

 

About Hugh5outhon1895

Hugh Southon is a lifelong Iron and the founding editor of ClaretandHugh. He is a national newspaper journalist of many years experience and was Bobby Moore's 'ghost' writer during the great man's lifetime. He describes ClaretandHugh as "the Hammers daily newspaper!" Follow on Twitter @hughsouthon

One comment on “Boleyn Farewell: Very rare Boleyn image

  1. What’s the massive chimneyed building on the murky horizon behind the West Stand? Anyone know?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *