Only one Hammer nominated for London football awards


Randolph-645947Darren Randolph is the only West Ham player to be nominated for the London football awards.

The Hammer is included for the London goalkeeper of the year award. Other nominees are Hugo Lloris, Thibaut Courtois, Alex Smithies and Jordan Archer.

The winners will be announced on March 2nd at Battersea Evolution as part of an evening which has become an increasingly high-profile event in the sporting calendar, with attendees in recent years including Arsene Wenger, Aaron Ramsey, Roy Hodgson, Harry Redknapp, Harry Kane as well as a French man who used to play for West Ham.

The awards, selected by a panel of leading ex-players, football administrators and journalists, raise funds for Willow, the only national charity providing Special Days for seriously ill 16-40-year-olds. Last year, £210,000 was raised.

The charity’s founder is former Arsenal goalkeeper Bob Wilson.

Share this article

I am Season Ticket Holder in West stand lower at the London Stadium and before that, I used to stand in the Sir Trevor Brooking Lower Row R seat 159 in the Boleyn Ground and in the Eighties I stood on the terraces of the old South Bank. I am a presenter on the West Ham Podcast called A Blogger on a member of the West Ham Supporters Advisory Board (SAB), Founder of a Youtube channel called Mr West Ham Football at,

I am also the associate editor here at Claret and Hugh.

Life Long singer of bubbles! Come on you Irons!

Follow me at @Westhamfootball on twitter